SAINT NICHOLAS PATRIARCHAL CATHEDRAL IN NEW YORK CITY

HISTORY
“Among the massive, but awkward heterodox churches and striking only by the height of other buildings in New York, the majestic Orthodox cathedral stands out for its wonderful architecture ...
... The majestic Russian Orthodox church in New York! - so will say anyone who looks at him for the first time - and he says a lot to the Russian Orthodox heart! "

— Russian Orthodox American Messenger. 1902

HISTORY OF SAINT NICHOLAS CATHEDRAL

St. Nicholas Cathedral was erected more than a hundred years ago. Its foundation associates with the names of two great Russian Saints — St. Tikhon. Patriarch of Moscow and all Russia and the newly-martyred Protopresbyter Alexander Hotovitsky.

At the end of the XIX century a large community of orthodox immigrants tracing their origins from the western areas of Ukraine and Byelorussia settled in New York. For a long time, the immigrants could not afford а church building because of their weak financial condition.

In 1870 on behalf of the most Holy Synod the first Greek-Russian church was constructed in New York. It was located in a private house on Second Avenue. Among its parishioners were Greeks, Serbs, Syrians, but the majority of its people were diplomats and those who served in the consulate of the Russian Empire. Thus the church was named a "consular church". Father Nicholas Bjerring born in Denmark and converted from Roman Catholicism became church rector. Before he converted he had been performing duties of a professor of philosophy and history at the Roman Catholic seminary in Baltimore, MD.

Remarkably, father Nicholas used to be а personal friend of was the US president during that time. Utilizing the extensive connections he had in America he displayed a great zeal in preaching orthodoxy to the American continent. In particular he was publishing a periodical "The Oriental Church Magazine" widely distributed in the United States.

ln 1894 Nicholas Bishop of Alaska and the Aleutian Islands based the new house church consecrated in honor of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in New York. He appointed archpriest E. Balanovich rector of the church. In October 1895 Alexander Aleksandrovich Hotovitsky, a native of Krementz in the Volynsk province and a graduate of both the Volynsk Theological Seminary and St.-Petersburg Theological Academy, was installed as psalm reader in the church. On February, 25, 1896 bishop Nicholas ordained him a priest and appointed him to succeed Fr. E. Balanovich as the church dean. Though divine services continued to be held in the house church, church authorities searched for the possibility to erect a separate church building in New York.

In 1899 а committee was established whose task was to examine the opportunities for purchasing property and constructing a church in the city. in September of the same year the Church purchased land of 150 sazhen (about 1050 square feet or 3195 square meters) at a total cost of $36 000 (72 thousand rubles) — 44 thousand rubles of which was paid immediately by the most Holy Synod. A church capable of accommodating 900 people had to be erected on this land. There were plans to construct premises for Sunday school, a hall for assemblies and apartments for clergy. The estimate for the construction was about 114 thousand rubles or $57 000. In February 1900 with the blessing of the most Holy Synod — which had received the highest sanction of Emperor Nicholas ll to gather necessary resources — Father Alexander Hotovitsky as the chairman of the Construction committee made a trip to Russia to collect money for the construction.

The first payment in the sum of five thousand golden rubles was offered by the family of Emperor Nicholas ll. Invaluable prayers and moral support were rendered by Father John of Kronshtadt who brought in 200 rubles of his personal assets and who wrote on the first page of the book specially set up to record the names of donators: “Bless God this book and work these donations are asked for…”.

Many orthodox people in Russia followed the example of the Priest from Kronshtadt and the Emperor‘s family. Quite often after sermons given by Father Alexander Hotovitsky parishioners bestowed their own earrings, rings, necklaces, and bracelets. In a very short time 80 thousand rubles were collected. Nevertheless, the means collected were insufficient, so the Holly Synod declared that January, 6 (19), 1901— the feast of Theophany — would be the day fundraising for the construction of an Orthodox church in New York. On this great feast all Russia collected donations to assist brothers and sisters in far-off America.

On May, 9 (22), 1901, on the feast of Transfer of the Relics of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, a cornerstone was laid to celebrate the founding of a new church, Consecration of the cornerstone was performed by bishop Tikhon of the Aleutian Islands and North America, who was to become Patriarch of all Russia and the Confessor of the Church There was a religious procession in New York that day. Around the area of 2nd Avenue and 97th East Street in Manhattan the houses were decorated with the Russian and American flags. Thousands of believers participated. Among them were representatives of the crew of the legendary battleship "Retvizan" which had been built in Philadelphia and was to become famous during the Russo—Japanese war. The sailors donated to the future church a cross which has been kept in St. Nicholas Cathedral since then.

In one—and—half years the best American civil engineering company John Dawney and Son erected a building of St. Nicholas Cathedral. Russian architect l.V. Bergessen designed it in the unique Moscovite baroque style. 

On November, 10 (23) Bishop Tikhon performed the Great Consecration of the church and presided over the first Divine Liturgy. About three thousand people were present. Among them were the Extraordinary Ambassador of Russia Count A.P. Kassini, representatives of the Russian Embassy, the mayor of New York City S. Low, General Consul N.N. Lodyzhensky, the Envoy of Russia in Korea А.Р. Pavlov, the Consul of Russia in Canada N.B. Struve and representatives of various confessions.

In his salutatory address Bishop Tikhon said: "...we repeatedly complained that our church was poor, tight and uncomfortable. These days have put an end to such complaints. as God has heard our intimate lamentations and a church will be erected on this place. It will be worthy of Russian people and right for greatness of Orthodox faith! To tell the truth, our new church yields to many churches of Russia, but as well as the temple of Solomon it has a missionary value: we hope that people of different beliefs shall hear about it and shall come and shall pray here to God, and shall lift up their hands to our God".

In 1905 St. Tikhon promoted to the rank of Archbishop transferred the diocese centre from San Francisco to New York. St. Nicholas church thus became Cathedral and spiritual centre of the Russian Orthodoxy in North America. All the subsequent bishops of our Church carried out their duties in this Cathedral.

The 1917 revolution in far—off Russia affected the life of the Cathedral in New York. In post revolutionary time, in the 1920s especially, regular spiritual life in St. Nicholas Cathedral was broken. To pay the debts pan of the Cathedral property had to be sold. The Cathedral could not avoid being seized by the renovationists. In 1924 "archbishop" l. Kedrovsky, who proclaimed himself official representative of the Russian Church sent to the US from Moscow, arrived in New York. Through the civil court he occupied the Cathedral and "owned" it until he passed away in 1934. After Kedrovsky‘s death his children, Nicholas and John continued to serve in the Cathedral, one in "episcopal" and another in "priest" dignity. Both were also connected to the "Living church". In 1944 Nikolay Kedrovsky died. His brother John Kedrovsky, having lost legal support and hierarchical leadership joined with Metropolitan Benjamin (Fedchenkov) who at that time was the official representative of the Moscow Patriarchate in the USA.

In 1933 Archbishop Benjamin with the blessing of Metropolitan Sergius arrived in the USA to deliver a series of lectures. During his stay there he was appointed Exarch of America by the decree of November, 29 of the same year and took the title of Archbishop of the Aleutian Islands and North America. In 14 years of his service in the USA Archbishop Benjamin managed to revive life of the parishes that belonged in the Patriarchal Church. In particular, he created about 50 new parishes. By the end of his sojourn in the US he was elevated into the rank of metropolitan.

On July, 2, 1941 soon after the treacherous attack of Germany on the Soviet Union, he addressed the massive meeting at Madison Square Garden in New York and made a huge impression. "Everyone knows, that the most terrible and crucial moment has come for the entire world. It is possible to say and should be said, that the destiny of the world depends upon the events in Russia... And consequently it is necessary to welcome the intention of the president of the United States and other statesmen to cooperate with Russia… All Russia rose up! We shall not sell out our conscience and the native Land!" These words, as they were written in the newspapers, literally electrified an audience of thousands.

In 1945 the return оf the Cathedral to the Moscow Patriarchate was legally recognized, but this recognition was not yet final. The lawsuit initiated by Metropolitan Platon (Rozhdestvensky), who had refused to accept orders of the Most Holy Patriarch Tikhon, proceeded, though the Metropolitan died. The dispute about property rights over the Cathedral was transferred from one court to another and as a result the lawsuit lasted for 36 years. in 1947 the Court of New York State ruled that the representatives of the Moscow Patriarchate and the congregation must abandon St. Nicholas Cathedral.

At this hard time the Presbyterian church allowed the Orthodox community to carry on Divine services in a church building on 96th Street. It was only on November, 23, 1952 that the Cathedral was returned to the Moscow Patriarchate by the decision of the United States Supreme Court. Lawyer F. Adler brilliantly won the case. On November, 24, 1952 Metropolitan Makarius (llynsky) wrote in his telegram to Moscow Patriarch Alexy I: "Lawsuit over the Cathedral is gained... I kindly ask to reward with mitre the Dean of the Cathedral archpriest Dzvonchin for his fight for the Cathedral. Thank God for all. We ask prayers and blessing of Your Holiness for forthcoming works". From then on, the Cathedral again has become headquarters of Exarchs of the Moscow Patriarchate in the USA and in North America and the centre of the Russian Church in the USA.

Meanwhile the Supreme Court of appeal in New York State did not agree with the decision of the Supreme Court and transferred the Cathedral to the so called Russian Metropolia with Metropolitan Leonty (Turkevich) as its head. Metropolitan Leonty did not recognize the Patriarch of Moscow, and therefore the lawsuit prolonged until 1960. By the verdict #824 of the US Supreme Court which was rendered on June, 6, 1960 this action was dismissed. Although verdicts of this type are seldom observed, The New York Times, in its issue from June, 6, 1960 noticed: "Today the Russian Orthodox Church has gained full victory in its 15-year struggle with its American division about possession of St. Nicholas Cathedral in New York".

Since 1970, after autocephaly had been granted to the Orthodox Church in America, St. Nicholas Cathedral has been designated as а church of the Representation of the Moscow Patriarchate in the USA. Simultaneously it became the centre of the Patriarchal parishes that stayed according to Autocephaly Tomos under the jurisdiction of the Russian Orthodox Church as they did not wish to join the Orthodox Church in America. St. Nicholas Cathedral remains a church of the most Holy Patriarch of Moscow and all Russia who through his vicar bishops governs parish life in the United States. The Vicar bishop is also the head of the Representation of the Moscow Patriarchate in the USA.

Life of the Cathedral in the second half of the XX century is closely related to the activities of such outstanding hierarchs of the Russian Church as Metropolitans Boris (Vik), John (Vendland) and Nikodim (Rotov) who either carried out their archpastoral duties at St. Nicholas or made significant strides in strengthening the positions of the Moscow Patriarchate in the USA.

Years of trials, lawsuits and financial difficulties affected the condition of the Cathedral which had not undergone changes since 1902 and had subsequently fallen into decay. In 1954 with the blessing of Metropolitan Gennogen (Kozhin) renovation works were started to restore the roof, domes and the cross. The works were continued by subsequent bishops. ln 1973, an event transpired that reflected upon the cultural value of the Cathedral when the Architectural Society of New York City placed on its wall a bronze memorial plaque describing the uniqueness of the building, thereby monumentalizing the Cathedral for its contribution to the city architecture.

By the year 2000 the condition of the Cathedral appeared to have deteriorated, and a decision was made to carry out major repairs and restoration work.

Reconstruction of the Cathedral art furniture coincided with the completion of painting of the Church of Christ the Savior in Moscow, which at the end of the XIX century was the pattern for Russian churches. After the reconstruction in 2000, as well as in the XIX century, the Church of Christ the Savior became that token without which it would be impossible to execute restorations in churches of the Russian Orthodox Church - both in Russia and abroad.

The groundwork and gathering of materials on the lost interior and paintings began at the end of the 1990s. The required reference source was found in the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. Priest Leonid Kalinin, the head of the coordination group of experts for the reconstruction of the Church of Christ the Savior, visited America several times. During his work on these reference sources in the Library of Congress and with personal assistance of the Librarian of the Library of Congress. Dr. J. Billington, it became possible to locate some materials on the history of construction of St. Nicholas Cathedral in l900—l902. The most essential documentary information about the Cathedral was gathered from the archives of Orthodox Church in America in Syosset, New York, which is headed by A.P. Liberovsky.

The traditional arrangement of plots was selected as a basis for composition of the church, with the image of Christ the Pantokrator in the dome, followed by Heavenly Hosts, and with great events of the Gospel history: Transfiguration, Crucifixion, Ascension and Descent of the Holy Spirit on the Apostles below it. All these images were painted in the top pan of the church, on concave surfaces of the walls, which support the dome and are called "sky".

At a lower level it was decided to place around the church the cycle of images revealing the Gospel history from the Nativity of Christ up to the Dormition of Mother of God.
Below is located the cycle of four images from the life of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker: "Rescue from Execution", "Rescue on Waters“, "Secret Compassionate Benefit", "Accusation of Arius at the First Ecumenical Council".

The Representation of the Moscow Patriarchate in the USA is located in the reconstructed building оf St. Nicholas Cathedral. Alter the end of renovation works its task has been essentially extended. The basic mission of the Representation is to testify position of the Russian Orthodox Church, to have contacts with representatives of other denominations, religious leaders of other traditions, American officials as well as international organizations and media in order to create an Orthodox unity on American continent. Clergymen appointed by the decision of the most Holy Patriarch and the Holy Synod fulfil their duties in the Representation.

These labours are undertaken not for the glory of people, but for the glory of God. "Not unto us, О Lord, not unto us, but unto Thy name give glory, for Thy mercy, and for Thy truth's sake." (Psalm 113: 9)

Saint Nicholas Patriarchal Cathedral has always been the main church for the spiritual unity where our compatriots can get together. Self—denying contribution to the restoration of the Cathedral provided by our fellow countrymen both in Russia and in the United States should be a good example and a guideline for our contemporaries and descendants.

Hallowed be Thy name, O Lord, in this stronghold of Russian Orthodoxy on the American continent, and may many people start from here their way to Thy Kingdom.

Remember, O Lord, all those who have served without idleness on this place and "pour on them Thy rich mercy" in both this temporary life and life eternal. Amen.

en_US

СВЯТО-НИКОЛАЕВСКИЙ ПАТРИАРШИЙ СОБОР г. НЬЮ-ЙОРК

ИСТОРИЯ СТРОИТЕЛЬСТВА
„Среди массивных, но неуклюжих инославных церквей и поражающих одной только высотой других строений Нью-Йорка резко выделяется своей чудной архитектурой величественный православный собор…
…Величествен православный русский храм в Нью-Йорке! — так скажет всякий, кто впервые взглянет на него, — и много говорит он русскому православному сердцу! »

-Американский Православный Вестник. 1902

ИСТОРИЯ СВЯТО-НИКОЛАЕВСКОГО СОБОРА

Свято-Николаевский собор создан более ста лет назад. У истоков его истории стояли великие святые угодники Русской земли — Святитель Тихон, Патриарх Московский и всея Руси, и новомученик протопресвитер Александр Хотовицкий.

В конце XIX века в Нью-Йорке сложилась большая колония православных по происхождению иммигрантов, в основном выходцев из западных районов Украины и Белоруссии, Слабое материальное положение переселенцев долгое время не позволяло им иметь свой храм.

В 1870 году по поручению Святейшего Синода в городе была построена первая греко-русская церковь, которая размещалась в частном доме на 2-й Авеню. Ее посещали греки, сербы, сирийцы, но, главным образом, дипломаты и служащие консульства Российской Империи, в связи с чем храм получил название «консульского». Настоятелем был назначен o. Николай Бьерринг, по рождению датчанин, обратившийся из католицизма в православие. До принятия православия, отец Николай был профессором философии и истории в католической семинарии Балтимора.

Николай Бьерринг был личным другом президента США У. Гранта и, располагая обширными связями в обществе, ревностно проповедовал православие на американском континенте, в частности, издавал широко распространявшийся в Соединенных Штатах «Журнал Восточной Церкви».

В 1894 году епископ Алеутский и Аляскинский Николай основал в Нью-Йорке новую  домовую церковь, освящённую в честь святителя Николая Мирликийского Чудотворца. И назначил туда настоятелем протоиерея Е. Балановича, а в октябре 1895 года на место псаломщика при этом храме был назначен Александр Александрович Хотовицкий, уроженец г. Кременца Волынской гyбернии, окончивший Волынскую духовную семинарию и Санкт-Петербургскую академию. 25 февраля 1896 года епископ Николай рукоположил его во иерея и назначил настоятелем церкви вместо священника E. Балановича. Хотя богослужения продолжали совершаться в домовой церкви, священноначалие продолжало изучать вопрос о строительстве отдельного храма в Нью-Йорке.

В 1899 году был образован комитет для поиска возможностей приобретения земельного участка и постройки в городе храма. В сентябре того же года был куплен земельный участок в 150 сажен общей стоимостью в 36 тысяч долларов (72 тысячи рублей), причём в счет уплаты этой суммы Святейший Синод сразу внес 44 тысячи рублей. На этом участке предполагалось возвести храм, который мог бы вместить 900 человек, построить помещение для воскресной школы, зал для собраний, квартиры священнослужителей. Сметная стоимость строительства составила 114 тысяч рублей, или 57 тысяч долларов, и в феврале 1900 года по благословению Святейшего Синода, получившего Высочайшее разрешение Государя Императора Николая Александровича на сбор необходимых средств, отец Александр Хотовицкий как председатель строительного комитета совершил в этих целях поездку в Россию.

Первый взнос на сумму 5 тысяч золотых рублей поступил от семьи Государя Императора Николая ll. Император начертал на письме o создании храма в Америке следующую резолюцию: «Сие дело есть великой государственной важности». Неоценимую молитвенную и нравственную поддержку оказал строительству храма отец Иоанн Кронштадтский, который внес 200 рублей личных средств и на первой странице специально заведенной для записи пожертвований книги написал: «Благослови Господь эту книгу и труд на который эти пожертвования испрашиваются…».

Примеру Царской семьи и Кронштадтского пастыря последовали многие православные в России. Нередко после звучавшихc с амвона обращений о. Александра Хотовицкого прихожане жертвовали собственные серьги, кольца, ожерелья, браслеты. За короткое время было собрано 80 тысяч рублей. Тем не менее, собранных средств было недостаточно, и тогда Святейший Синод объявил 6 (19) января 1901 года — праздник Крещения Господня — днем сбора средств на строительство православного храма в Нью-Йорке. В этот великий двунадесятый праздник вся Россия собирала пожертвования, чтобы оказать помощь братьям и сестрам в далекой Америке.

9 (22) мая 1901 года в день Перенесения мощей святителя Николая Мирликийского Чудотворца, состоялась закладка краеугольного камня в основание нового храма. Освящение камня совершал епископ Алеутский и Североамериканский Тихон, будущий Всероссийский Патриарх и исповедник Церкви Христовой. В этот день в Нью-Йорке состоялся крестный ход с участием тысяч верующих, среди них были и представители команды строящегося в Филадельфии легендарного броненосца «Ретвизан», который прославился позже во время Русско-японской войны Моряки пожертвовали будущему храму запрестольный крест, который и поныне хранится в Свято-Николаевском соборе. На всем протяжении следования крестного хода от церкви на 2-й авеню до 97—й улицы Манхэттена дома были украшены российскими и американскими флагами.

Через полтора года лучшая американская строительная фирма того времени «Джон Дауни и сын» по проекту и под наблюдением российского архитектора И.В. Бергессена возвела здание Свято-Николаевского собора в стиле уникального для Нью-Йорка московского барокко. 

10 (23) ноября 1902 года епископом Тихоном было совершено его Великое освящение храма и первая Божественная Литургия. На чине освящения присутствовало около трех тысяч человек, среди них Чрезвычайный посол России граф А.П. Кассини, представители русского посольства, мэр Нью-Йорка С. Лоу, генеральный консул Н.Н. Лодыженский, посланник России в Корее А.П. Павлов, консул России в Канаде Н.Б. Струве, представители различных конфессий.

Епископ Тихон в своей приветственной речи сказал: «… мы многократно сетовали на то, что храм наш и беден, и тесен, и неудобен. Ныне положен конец таким сетованиям, и услышаны Господом сердечные воздыхания наши о том, чтобы в великом граде сем был воздвигнут храм, достойный русского народа и соответствующий величию православной веры! Правда, пo своим богатствам наш новый храм уступает многим храмам великой земли русской, но зато он, как и Соломонов храм, имеет миссионерское значение: уповаем, что о нем услышат и инославные, и придут в него, и помолятся здесь, и возденут руки свои к Богу нашему».

В 1905 году возведенный в сан архиепископа Святитель Тихон перевел епархиальный центр из Сан-Франциско в Нью-Йорк, и Свято-Николаевский храм стал кафедральным собором, приняв нa себя миссию духовного центра русского Православия в Северной Америке, где несли свое служение все последующие епископы нашей Церкви.

Произошедшая в 1917 году на далекой Родине революция коснулась и собора в Нью-Йорке. В послереволюционное время, в особенности в 20-е годы XX столетия, нормальная духовная жизнь в Свято-Николаевском храме нарушилась. Началась распродажа собственности собора для оплаты кредитов. Не довелось собору избежать и столь частого в те годы захвата обновленцами. В 1924 году в Нью-Йорк прибыл обновленческий «архиепископ» И. Кедровский, который назвался официальным представителем Русской Церкви, направленным в Нью-Йорк из Москвы, он через гражданский суд занял собор и владел им до своей кончины в 1934 году. После смерти Кедровского в соборе продолжали служить его дети, Николай и Иоанн, один в «епископском» другой в «священническом» сане. Оба также были связаны с «Живой церковью». В 1944 году Николай Кедровский скончался. Его брат Иоанн Кедровский, потеряв юридическую поддержку и утратив иерархическое возглавление своей группы, присоединился к находившемуся в то время в США представителю Mocковской патриархии митрополиту Вениамину (Федченкову).

В 1933 году владыка Вениамин с благословения митрополита Сергия отправился c циклом лекций в США. Bo время его пребывания там указом от 29 ноября того же года он был назначен временным Экзархом Америки, архиепископом Алеутским и Северо-Американским, За I4 лет служения в США, к концу которого он удостоился сана митрополита‚ владыка Вениамин сумел возродить жизнь Патриаршей Церкви, в частности, создав около 50 новых приходов.

2 июля 1941 года, через несколько дней после вероломного нападения Германии на Советский Союз, он выступил с речью на грандиозном митинге в нью-йоркском Мэдисон-сквер-гарден, произведя на собравшихся огромное впечатление: «Всякий знает, что момент наступил самый страшный и ответственный для всего мира. Можно и должно сказать, что от конца событий в России зависят судьбы мира… И потому нужно приветствовать намерение президента и других государственных мужей о сотрудничестве c Россией… Вся Русь встала! Не пpoдадим совесть и Родину!». Эти слова, по свидетельству газет, буквально наэлектризовали многотысячную аудиторию.

В 1945 году возвращение собора в Московскую Патриархию было признано законным, но это признание еще не носило окончательного характера. Судебный процесс. Начатый митрополитом Платоном (Рождественским), не принявшим распоряжений Святейшего Патриарха Тихона, продолжался, хотя самого митрополита уже не было в живых. Суд по делу о правах собственности на собор передавался из одной инстанции в другую и в итоге затянулся на 36 лет. В 1947 году суд штата Нью-Йорк вынес решение, согласно которому представители Московской Патриархии и община должны были удалиться из Свято-Николаевского храма.

В это трудное время Пресвитерианская церковь предоставила общине свой храм на 96-й улице для совершения богослужений, и только решением Верховного суда США от 23 ноября 1952 года собор был возвращен Московской Патриархии. Адвокат Ф. Адлер блестяще выиграл дело, о чем митрополит Макарий (Ильинский) в телеграмме Патриарху Московскому Алексию 1 от 24 ноября 1952 года сообщает: «Судебное дело о соборе выиграли… Прошу о награждении митрою настоятеля собора протоиерея Дзвончина за его труды в деле борьбы за собор. Слава Богу за все. Испрашиваем молитв и благословения Вашего Святейшества для предстоящих трудов». С этого времени собор вновь стал местом пребывания в США экзархов Московской Патриархии u Северной Америке и центром Русской церкви в США.

Между тем Высший апелляционный суд штата Нью-Йорк не посчитался с решением Верховного суда и передал собор не признававшей Патриарха Московского pycской Митрополии, возглавляемой в то время митрополитом Леонтием (Туркевичем), в результате чего судебный процесс продлился до 1960 года. Решением Верховного суда США № 824 от 6 июня 1960 года этот приговор был отменен. Подобная процедура наблюдается весьма редко и лишь в исключительных случаях. «Нью-Йорк таймс» в номере от 6 июня 1960 года отмечала: «Русская Православная Церковь сегодня одержала полную победу в 15-летней борьбе с американским толком этой Церкви об обладании Николаевским собором в Нью-Йорке».

С 1970 года после дарования автокефалии Православной Церкви в Америке Свято-Николаевский собор был определен как храм Представительства Московского Патриархата в США. Одновременно он является центром Патриарших приходов. оставшихся в соответствии с Томосом об автокефалии в каноническом ведении Русской Православной Церкви и не пожелавших перейти в Православную Церковь в Америке. Свято-Николаевский собор остается храмом Святейшего Патриарха Московского и всея Руси, который через своих викариев управляет приходами. Викарии также возглавляют Представительство в США.

Жизнь собора во второй половине ХХ века связана c деятельностью таких выдающихся иерархов Русской Церкви, как митрополит Борис (Вик), митрополит Иоанн (Вендланд), митрополит Никодим (Ротов), которые либо несли здесь свое архипастырское служение, либо многое сделали для усиления позиций Московского Патриархатa в США. Годы испытаний, судебных тяжб, финансовых трудностей не могли не отразиться на состоянии собора, который с 1902 года не претерпевал изменений и обветшал.

В 1954 году при митрополите Гермогене (Кожине) начались ремонтные работы по реставрации крыши, куполов и креста, продолженные при ряде последующих архиереев. К 1973 году относится событие, отразившее культурное значение собора: он стал памятником архитектуры Нью-Йорка, и Архитектурное общество города прикрепило к стене бронзовую мемориальную доску с текстом об уникальности здания.

К 2000 году состояние храма оказалось близким к аварийному, и было принято peшение о проведении капитального ремонта и реставрационных работ.

Работа по воссозданию художественного убранства собора по времени совпала с завершением художественной росписи Храма Христа Спасителя в Москве, который в конце XIX века был эталоном для множества российских храмов. После своего воссоздания в 2000 году Храм Христа Спасителя, как и в XIX веке, стал тем образцом, без которого невозможно было бы приступить к сложнейшим реставрационным работам во множестве храмов Русской Православной Церкви — как в России, так и за ее пределами.

Начало подготовительных работ и сбор материала по утраченному интерьеру и росписи начался еще в конце 90-х годов. В связи с тем, что воссозданию Храма Христа Спасителя требовался материал, хранящийся в Библиотеке Конгресса США, в Америку несколько раз командировался священник Леонид Калинин, руководитель Координационной группы специалистов по воссозданию Храма Христа Спасителя. В ходе работы над материалами, находящимися в Библиотеке Конгресса, a также при личном содействии Библиотекаря Конгресса США д-ра Дж. Биллингтона удалось обнаружить часть материалов по истории строительства Свято-Николаевского собора 1900—1902 гг. Наиболее существенные результаты дал сбор документальной информации о соборе из архива Православной Церкви в Америке, находящегося в Сайоссете и возглавляемого А.П. Либеровским.

За основу композиции храма было взято Традиционное расположение сюжетов, от Господа Вседержителя в куполе, вниз — через Небесные Силы, к великим событиям Евангелия: Преображению, Распятию Господню, Вознесению и Сошествию Святого Духа на Апостолов — в верхней части храма, на вогнутых поверхностях «Неба».

Чуть ниже, опоясывая храм, расположен цикл изображений, раскрывающих Евангельскую историю c Рождества Христова до Успения Богоматери.
Еще ниже, расположен цикл из четырех изображений жития Святителя Николая: «Избавление от казни», «Спасение на водах», «Тайное воспоществование», «Обличение Ария на I Вселенском Соборе».

В реконструированном здании при Свято-Николаевском соборе разместилось Представительство Московского Патриархата в США, задачи которого после завершения восстановительных работ существенно расширились. Основная миссия Представительства — свидетельствовать позицию Русской Православной Церкви в контактах с участниками созидания православного единства на американской земле, инославными церквами государства пребывания, религиозными лидерами других традиций, государственными учреждениями США, представителями международных организаций и прессы. B Представительстве проходят послушание клирики, назначенные в Свято-Николаевский собор решением Святейшего Патриарха и Священного Синода.

Этот труд предпринят не для славы человеческой, но для славы Божией. Ибо «не нам, Господи, не нам подобает слава, но Имени Твоему святому».

Нью-Йоркский Патриарший Собор был и доселе остается главным храмом и местом встречи для духовного единения наших соотечественников. Жертвенное же участие в этом святом деле наших соотечественников в России и в Соединенных Штатах Америки да будет добрым и назидательным примером для многих наших современников и потомков.

И пусть на этом острове Русского Православия на Американском континенте святится во веки, Господи, Имя Твое, и пусть отсюда начнут и совершат многие свой путь к Твоему Царствию.

Вспомни, Господи, всех неленостно потрудившихся на этом послушании и «излей на них милости Твоя богатыя» и в жизни всей временной, и в жизни вечной. Аминь.

ru_RU